11 Questions

LIS Thoughts & Portfolio

My second semester as an MLIS student has begun. As part of an opening assignment, one of my professors sent us to a December 29, 2013 blogpost by Jennifer LaGarde of the blog “The Adventures of Library Girl.” Instead of New Year’s Resolutions, LaGarde asked questions. Eleven of them, all relating to the library. Their tangibility surprised me, focusing on data and concrete ideas. Since I’m not currently the head of a library, I compared them to my field experience assigned school.

My school is a Title 1 school and serves primarily minority students. However, my school is also part of the Global Schools NetworkGSN Logo, with a focus on giving their students a globally-oriented education. I can’t fully answer all of LaGarde’s 11 questions, but I can make a start.

Question 2: The principle is a big proponent of the GSN initiatives. My supervisor, the school’s librarian, supports these…

View original post 305 more words

Leave a Reply

